Ardea Partners International LLP May 2018 – Present

Head of Europe, Middle East and Africa

Goldman Sachs1987 – 2011

Chief Operating Officer of Goldman Sachs International and Head of Operations, Technology, Finance and Services, London 2006 – 2011

Co-Chairman of Firmwide Capital and Commitments Committees2006 – 2011

CEO of Goldman Sachs International Bank 2006 – 2011

Managing Director, Investment Banking Division, London2003 – 2006

Co-Head of European Advisory (Mergers & Acquisitions and Corporate Finance) Group, London1999 – 2003

Partner in charge of New Markets of Europe, Middle East and Africa1996 – 1999

Executive Director, Co-Head of Corporate Finance for Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Frankfurt 1993 – 1996

Chief of Staff to Chairman of Goldman Sachs International, London1992 – 1993

Executive Director, Mergers and Acquisitions, London1990 – 1992

Associate in Corporate Finance, Structured Finance, and Mergers and Acquisitions departments, New York 1987 – 1990

Elected Partner1996

Grindlays Bank and ANZ Banking 1979-1985

Vice President and Deputy Head of Latin America Department

Other Affiliations


Chair, Young Vic Theatre

Advisory Board Member, The Sutton Trust


Director and Chairman of the Audit Committee, Fiat Chrysler Automobiles N.V.

Director, Affiliated Managers Group, Inc.

Vice Chairman and Trustee, Teach First

Chairman of the Advisory Board, Cambridge University Judge Business School

Director and Trustee, The Royal National Theatre

Vice Chairman and Director, Rothesay Life Group

Member, GOAL Programme Steering Group at the National Academy for Gifted and Talented Youth

Ministerial Task Force, Gifted and Talented Education

Board of Trustees, The Goldman Sachs Foundation

The Higher Education Commission

Development Advisory Forum, Emmanuel College, Cambridge

Advisory Committee, Hayfin Capital Management LLP


Emmanuel College, Cambridge University, BA in Economics and Law1979

Harvard Business School, MBA with High Distinction1987

George F. Baker Scholar, Henry Ford II Scholar, Thomas M. and Edna E. Wolfe Award, Loeb Rhoades Fellow